Skip to content

Gifted Over: Alice in Wonderland-themed Eat Me/Drink Me Tags

September 14, 2010

Just what the title says! I had the pleasure of making 40 eat me/drink me tags for a friend’s Wonderland-themed tea party that happened this past Saturday, and thought I’d share the photos with you!

Remember when this dystopian shrinking happened to Alice?

Well, the birthday lady had wanted little tags to tie around her little chocolate and tea bag party favours, and approached me to see if I could get some done. Here’s what I came up with:

They’re each about 2 x 0.8″, and have the phrases ‘Eat me/Drink me’ typed with the sexy Senior. I could probably have made the process a little bit easier by having the words handwritten, stamped, or printed, but I really wanted to give it a nice vintage feel so I was pretty much hell-bent on using my 1930s typewriter. I really love how the uneven type from the dried-out ribbon gives it such a agedly-dignified character! Yes, I’m quite sure I just made up a new adjective phrase there.

In addition to the truly vintage type, I also thought it’d be a pretty cool look if I could antique-up the edges of the paper, to give it a nice browned-over aged look. I’ve been experimenting with a couple of inking techniques to get paper looking vintage, so this was the perfect opportunity to put those new skills to good use! I’m glad they turned out well and everyone at the party kept asking if I had burned the edges of the paper, haha :]

This was actually how the final set of 40 tags ended up looking like. She decided to go with the brown embroidery floss to keep that aged look going, and I have to say I think it all went really well. She took some cute photos from the day of, so I’ll definitely be updating this with those when they’re up!

And yes, with my penchant for pretty/meaningful packaging, I had to gift them over in a manner that reflected the antique/vintage theme we had going on with the tags. I rolled them up in this swatch of old newspaper print, and brought it together with some left over embroidery floss that I had while making the tags (hooray for no waste!).

Hope you liked it! If you think you (or a friend) might be interested in these tags, just e-mail me at PaperExploits[at]gmail.com and we can discuss this further ;] Thanks for visiting!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 12:24 am

    Aw they look lovely :) Can’t wait to see the photos of the party!

  2. September 15, 2010 1:53 am

    Thank you, Maimy! I’ll definitely be updating soon! :]

  3. Michele Gendall permalink
    January 10, 2012 1:37 pm

    May I ask the process you used to get the edges brown and burnt looking?

Trackbacks

  1. As Featured In: Erin from Eastern WA « Paper Exploits . Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

